Home > Uncategorized > How I made my XBox360 Media Center Extender Silent–Final Result

How I made my XBox360 Media Center Extender Silent–Final Result

Awesome!  It works as great as I had hoped.  I have all of my cables run through my wall with the XBox360 in the closet and the IR Receiver now zip tied to the bottom edge of the LCD TV.  It looks great and it works great.  The Power LED for the XBox is just as convenient as I imagined and the IR Receiver is not picky at all with respect to direction, even working when IR is bounced off the opposite wall (that was my wife’s test).  I definitely have a 10 out of 10 WAF approval on this one.  I would definitely say it works better than the IR receiver built into the Jasper XBox.  Also, as I had anticipated, putting the two IR receivers in parallel allows either one to receive IR, although I suspect that if they both get IR at the same time, it would work poorly.  Also, since I have fluorescent lighting in my closet (which can emit IR), I taped over the IR receiver built into the XBox with Black electrical tape (white tape was transparent to IR, so I put white tape on top of the black tape).  Below are the pictures of the final product.
TV with IR Receiver attached at bottom
Close up of the receiver with red power indicator
XBox360 neatly tucked away on the top shelf of the closet (notice the IR Receiver plugged in on the right side and the tape covering the IR receiver)
Done!
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 16, 2011 at 2:48 pm

    Good job with that IR! I have to try it myself 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

